pasterloans.blogg.se

A complicated song
A complicated song







I still feel it would have been way better, but the label wanted “Don't Tell Me.” I was like, “I can write a better song than this. I actually wanted “My Happy Ending” to be the first single for the album. It's about saying, “Put on the condom!” No, I'm just kidding. I was a good girl-pretty good-and it's about not letting a guy pressure you into doing something you don't want to do. I think it's so funny that I wrote a song about that. The song's about knowing when you're being tested and having your boundaries pushed and being a good girl. Now when I'm up onstage singing it, I think of all my tours and how long I've been singing the song. I love performing the song even to this day because it has so much meaning behind it. It taught me so much about hard work and how that pays off. So when I think of the song, I think about how, as a new artist, I was in two to three cities a day, flying at 6 a.m., waking up at 4 a.m. It was a total whirlwind, and it happened super quick.

a complicated song

This was the first song I went around and played for all these radio stations. The same with “Sk8er Boi”-high school experiences, different groups and cliques, and stuff like that. I was a teenager, so it's more about what people are like in general. The inspiration for it came from how it really bothered me when my male and female friends would be in the world putting on a face and not being true to themselves, but I didn't have anyone in particular in mind when I wrote it. I remember thinking that in my little brain, being like, “I can totally hear this.” I felt really good about it. When we were writing “Complicated,” I thought, This is totally a song that could be on the radio. It also scored two Grammy nominations: Song of the Year and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance. The 2002 hit was well received and peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100. The debut single off her debut album, this was the song that introduced Lavigne to the world. It's a really fun time in music, for sure.”Īnd for Glamour's latest installment of 5 Songs, 5 Stories, we dive deeper with Avril Lavigne into how, exactly, that vibe has evolved over the years. bands and seeing all the collabs that are happening right now. This has been my vibe, always, and it's cool to see a younger generation discovering the O.G. “It's always been a part of who I am and where I started, musically.

a complicated song

“I'm happy that people are loving and appreciating music right now,” she says. Pop punk is having a resurgence again thanks to artists like Machine Gun Kelly, who Lavigne recruited to feature on her song “Bois Lie.” Travis Barker, future Mr. Much like her debut, her timing is impeccable.









A complicated song